Unboxing of May’s Ninja Book Box

on

Hello, everyone!

Long time no see. And yes, I know the last post was also an unboxing, but I can’t help it. I hope I’ll have more time to write about books because I read some amazing ones in the last couple of weeks and I can’t wait to share my opinion on them with you.

So, without any further ado, let’s talk about May’s Ninja Book Box! You have no idea how excited I was  (and still am) about being a rep for this unique book box. I was eagerly waiting for my  box to arrive and was delighted when the mailman finally came with a parcel for me.

If you don’t know anything about Ninja Book Box, it’s a quarterly subscription book box (which means the boxes are being sent out four times a year, in February, May, August and November). The concept of the box is that it supports independent and small businesses meaning that the book in a box is from an independent publisher and all other goods are also from various small businesses. In my opinion it’s a great way of discovering really great and new authors and stories as well as some new bookish shops.

So, let’s see what’s in my Max box! The theme is Magical Lands and I must say that the content fits that theme perfectly! The products are custom made and it’s obvious how much love and effort was put into devising of the box.

The most important thing in the box is the book, and this month it was Dragon’s Green by Scarlett Thomas which was published by Canongate, one of the bigger independent publishers. It sounds really promising, don’t you think?

18838488_1888819414672446_1891325103_oEffie is a pupil at the Tusitala School for the Gifted and Strange. When her grandfather becomes ill she discovers she is set to inherit the family library. The more she learns about it the more unusual it is. Before she knows it, her life is at risk from dark forces from this world and beyond, intent on using the books and the power they contain.
With her grandfather gone and the adult world ignoring her, can her unreliable classmates help save her life?

It’s an April release and it’s signed by the author herself. In a guide through the box is written that the similar read is The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, one of my favorite books ever, so I’m really excited about reading Dragon’s Green. In the box is also an invitation for Book Chat about this month’s book on Ninja Book Box forum and I’m sure I’ll join in!

 

My favorite thing from this box is definitely the gorgeous-smelling bookish candle called 18835325_1890045021216552_713363544_nMagical Library from Good Book Hunting. Look at all these sparkles! I wish you could smell it for yourself, it reminds me of a scent from my childhood that I can’t name right now. Then, there was a print from Always Bookish which says ‘Books are uniquely portable magic’. Favorite products for the most most of the bookworms out there are probably bookmarks, am I right? In my case that is more than true. The May box included a handmade bookmark with dragon pendant and I can’t wait to use it with Dragon’s Green. There were also seeds for a plant named Dragon’s Fruit which is an unusual but really cool addition to the box!

The box also contained a Ninja Recipe for Nutmeg Hot Chocolate. It’s a bit hot for hot chocolate but I’ll save the recipe for the cold-ish days. In the box can be found an interview with the author of Dragon’s Green, Scarlett Thomas and a review of the book which I’ll read after I read the book as it says it contains some spoilers.

Here’s how the whole box looks when all things are together:

18901312_1888819281339126_832231149_o.jpg

Honestly, I really love how the main are purple tones of the box as it’s my favorite color. To be honest, this is a really great, quality box and I really can’t wait to receive the next, August box, for which the theme will be revealed in mid June.
The extra things I received as a rep delighted me and I can’t wait to use them in my photos on Instagram:
18789952_1888819261339128_872059353_o.jpg

These are both from stationery shop on Ninja Book Box site and you can find them here.

If you’d like to buy a box or something from Ninja Book Box Shop you can use my rep code FANGIRL15 to get 15% off of your order!

You can find more information about Ninja Book Box on their website, Instagram and Facebook page.

Have you ever subscribed to a book box? Which is the book box you’d like to buy?

Till the next post,

Jana sends you hugs! ♥

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

