I Dare You Booktag | Jana

Hello, there!

I haven’t done any book tags lately, so I found this one founded by Bookfandom1001 which seemed fun to answer.

RULES:

Ο You must be honest

Ο You can’t not answer a question

Ο You have to tag at least four people

 

Which book has been on your shelf the longest?

I’m not quite sure, to be honest. There are probably way more books  than I want to admit, but I know All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Dorr has been on my shelf for at least two years. But it’s not beacuse I don’t want to read it, I’m actually intimidated by its page count, which is pretty stupid as I’d read books with far more pages.

What is your current read, your last read, and the book you’ll read next?

My current read is Crime and Punishemnt by Fyodor Dostoyevsky because it’s my school read. I really like it, but it’s going really slowly as I find it depressing and I need to make a pause every 20 or so pages. My last read was The French Nanny by Bianca Pitzorno, the book that was sent to me by the publisher in exchange for the honest opinion. I loved it from the first to the last page. My next read… I have no idea. Honestly, I don’t like to pressure myself so I just read whatever feels right or interesting at the given moment.

What book did everyone like, but you hated?

Hm… Fifty Shades of Grey? I think I read it way early than I should have and at that moment I was like ’sure, it’s good’ but now, the more I think about it, I can say that I don’t have a positive opinion about it. I won’t talk about the plot of the book and morals and whatever – but let me hate on the writing style, weak characters, poor character development (speaking of the main character) and that damn inner goddess. I’m a really tolerant person, but if somebody told me that the book was written beautifully, I would probably fight that person. Sorry.

What book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but probably won’t?

Probably the rest of The Mortal Instruments series. I stopped at the book three and I truly want to finish the whole series someday, but I think it won’t happen any time soon. I simply don’t think it’s something worth spending time on anymore as there are plenty of books that are the priority. Though Infernal Devices sound amazing and I surely will read it soon.

Which book are you saving for retirement?

The Mountain Wreath by Petar Petrovic Njegos in hope that I’ll finally be able to understand what the hell is going on. I hate that book so much at the moment.

Last Page: Read it first or wait till the end?

It really depends on my mood and excitement level. But I usually read a couple of sentences from the last page just to prepare myself for crying or mental breakdown. Spoilers generally don’t bother me that much, if I find out what hapens in the end I would still be wondering how that happened or why so I’d keep reading without any difficulties.

Acknowledgments: Waste of paper and ink or interesting aside?

I never skip acknowledgments and I’m really disappointed if it’s not as good as the book. My favorite one is from Illuimane by Jay Kristoff and Amy Kaufman. I laughed my ass off when I was reading it. It was truly unique.

Which book character would you switch places with?

Oh, this is a tough one. Most of the books I read were set up in a horrendous places I would never want to live. But I would maybe want to switch places with Kath from Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell only because of the gorgeous Levi. Or with America from The Selection by Kiera Cass because of Maxon, palace, food… Do I need to go on?

Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life (a person, a place, a time)?

Yes! Before I Fall byLauren Oliver greatly reminds me of the seaside, Montenegro particulary, because I read it there and fell in love with Lauren Oliver’s writing style. Harry Potter series reminds me of elementary school and how I became a better person because of it.

Which book has been with you the most places?

I don’t know. I do always bring a book with me wherever I go, but it’s every time a different book that I’m reading for the first time.

Any “required reading” you hated in highschool that wasn’t so bad two years later?

That still hasn’t happened to me, but I hope I will wake up enlightened. Just kidding, I will always hate Preacher Cira and Preacher Spira with the same passion.

Used or brand new?

I got used to brand new books, but I really don’t mind used ones. I actually prefer to buy used book for a good price if it’s in decent condition. I can’t choose, really, both are great.

Have you ever read a Dan Brown book?

Nope, but I really want to.

Have you ever seen a movie you liked more than the book?

YES! Paper Towns!  Paper Towns!  Paper Towns! I was emotionless towards the book, but I pretty much liked the movie. The book was so pointless, but the movie gave it a meaning and shape and emotion. And that scene with Pokemon theme song! It was the highlight of everything!

Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry, excluding cookbooks?

The Wrath and The Dawn was the only book that really made me wishing to eat all the mentioned food. The thing is, it was not only mentioned, but richly described so you can imagine how it looks and smells… I’m hungry even when I’m  thinking about it.

Who’s the person whose book advice you’ll always take?

I’ve never regretted reading a book recommended to me by my younger sister as we have the identical taste in ya contemporary books. Also, my friend and I have always loved the same books and I’ve never not liked the book he recommended to me.

I tag  Sarah In Zombieland, Drekinn Books, Between the Pages and A Bibliophiles Book Blog! Also, if you want to do this tag and you’re not taged, feel free to do it!

How would you answer these questions? Do we agree on some?

Till the next post,

Jana sends you hugs ♥

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Brad Nixon says:

    As always, you broaden my horizon. I didn’t know of Petar Petrovic Njegos. I’ll look for translations into English. Thank you. “All the Light We Cannot See” has also been waiting for me. This is the year. Happy reading.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you find the translations and enjoy reading his works! Happy reading! 😄

      Liked by 1 person

  2. thedailyam says:

    Great post! I never skip acknowledgements either 😄

    Liked by 1 person

      1. thedailyam says:

        You’re welcome! 😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

