November Wrap Up & December TBR | Jana

November was a pretty good reading month as I’d finally gotten out of a horrible two-month-lasting reading slump in October. I’m really satisfied with books I read, but I’m more satisfied with the fact that I wasn’t unable to finish a book I was reading for whatever reason.

I had started and finished the month with works of a Serbian author Borisav Stanković – Koštana and Impure Blood. They were both required reads and even though I needed some time to actually consider reading them, I finished both in one sitting and they were so delighting I added them on my favorite school reads list. They are both about psychology and way of living of people from southern parts of Serbia in 19th century  and as much as they were interesting, they were really upsetting. Main characters Sofka and Koštana are incredible and unlike any other female characters I had a chance to read about in Serbian literature.

Next book I read was the one I started back in October – Splintered by A. G. Howard. It was a good read and I liked it quite a lot. It reminded me of Alice in Wonderland that I seriously need to reread soon. However, this one was a lot darker version of Wonderland and I’m sure that all lovers of Caroll’s original works would be satisfied with how it was portrayed and they should definitely read it.

Metalliveljet by Antti Halme lightened me up in cold, cloudy November days with its specific humor. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone having a bad day because I’m sure it would bring a smile on the gloomiest face. It was kind of refreshing that the book is placed in Norway and it gives the book a unique atmosphere.

The most anticipated books of this Belgrade Book Fair for me were definitely The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson and  Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman. If you’ve been following us on Instagram or here, you’d know that Jandy Nelson is one of my favorite authors and that I ‘d read even here grocery store shopping list and be amazed by it. It’s little to say that I’m amazed by the book and if you asked me which one is better, The Sky Is Everywhere or I’ll Give You The Sun, I wouldn’t be able to answer because I love them equally. You can read the review of I’ll Give You The Sun here, and the review of The Sky Is Everywhere will soon be up so stay tuned.

The second anticipated read was Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman which i wanted to get my hands on for more than a year. Believe me, it is absolutely phenomenal! It’s format is quite unusual, it’s happening in space, it’s action-packed – there is no better combination. Now I’m *really* impatiently waiting for the translation of Gemina.

Currently reading: The Bridge on the Drina by Ivo Andrić

I have a pretty ambitious TBR for December and I really hope I’ll be able to read all the book from that list:

Nerve by Jeanne Ryan

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austin

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

Fireflies in a Jar by Slađana Kručičan

The Gate by Tamara Kučan

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan

The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

What are the books you read in November? What are you planning to read in December?

Till the next time,

Jana sends you hugs ♥

 

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. allylmare says:

    On November I read only two books. It was White Space by Bick and Abhorsen by Nix. On December I’ve done one E-book, Eve Under Pressure by Schmid and done reading Romeo and Juliet by Shakespeare. Will be reading Pride and Prejudice by Austen.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good choice! How did you like Romeo and Juliet? I read it some time ago for school and I remember I quite likes it. 😊
    Yaay, I’m reading a book by Jane Austin this month too. 😊

    Like

  3. I’m sure you can handle and tackle your December TBR, Jana!! ❤ I'll be cheering for you to do it! Don't let all those big books scare you away!! /o/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, thank you for the encouragement and support, I’ll give my best to finish off most of them. 😊❤️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome, dear! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Brad Nixon says:

    Thank you for visiting Under Western Skies. Now I have a challenge: introduce myself to Serbian literature. I accept. I’ll begin with Bridge on the Drina. It’s in my local library. I look forward to YOUR comments on the book. You may be interested to know that I live very near the Port of Los Angeles, and there is a strong Serbo-Croatian presence in the port town of San Pedro, just a mile from me. I look forward to learning something entirely new. Best regards, Brad.

    Like

  5. Brad Nixon says:

    I did read The Bridge on the Drina, and enjoyed it. I posted an article today with some of my impressions of the book and included a link to Fangirls’ Bookshelves. Thank you for introducing me to a new part of European literature. The post is: https://blaknissan.wordpress.com/2017/01/31/
    a-serbian-novel-the-bridge-on-the-drina

    Like

Leave a Reply

