JULY WRAP-UP (Jelisaveta)

Hello there! I know you guys are not used to reading my wrap-ups, TBRs and hauls, but I decided I should start doing these when I have the time.

So, let’s get into it!


  • Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

I became addicted to Morgan Matson’s books and let me tell you, they are great summer reads. Since You’ve Been Gone is a story about two girls, one of which is a complete extrovert, open to people, and the other one is her complete opposite – introvert and her shadow and happy to be there. When Sloane, the friendly one, disappears all of a sudden, leaving no message for Emily, except a TO DO list to help her with her social anxiety, Emily is left all alone. Trying to get things off the list, she will find handsome Frank joining her on her task and she will finally get a chance to discover who she truly is, without Sloane.

It’s a wonderful story, really, and what I particularly like about Matson’s works is that while there is romance, it is not what’s most important. There’s always something else the characters are dealing with, and the romance comes at the very end and you’re left not knowing what actually happened with the couple.

Except you find that out in the next book of hers, but you’ll discover that on your own.


  • Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

Like I already said a couple of passages before, I am obsessed. This is unfortunately my last MM read, since there are no books left – I’VE READ THEM ALL.

This one is about a girl whose father suddenly gets sick and they decide to go to their lake house after five years and spend their whole summer there. She doesn’t want to go, since she left things a bit unsettled there, with both her friend Lucy and her childhood boyfriend Henry. She goes through a lot while in Lake Phoenix and she gets to know her father more. She figures out that there’s not enough time for her to spend with the people she loves and I think the most important thing this book teaches us is that we should value every moment we spend with the people we love because we don’t know how fast that can be taken away from us.


  • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

I don’t know if you knew this, but I have already read TRB by Mrs. Stiefvater, but I never got a chance to continue with the series. And now that The Raven King is out, I decided I should reread the first book and then continue with the series.

I liked the book even more than the first time, which is pretty unusual, but this is the second time this is happening to me in less than a year, so my tastes in literature are apparently starting to change.

The Raven Boys is a story about a girl named Blue and she was told by her mother, who is a psychic, that when she kisses her true love he will die. And that pretty much prevented her from any interactions with guys. But when she found out who Gansey is, the future love of her life, her whole life is about to get turned upside down. There’s only two rules Blue’s following and those are: Never kiss a gu. and Never befriend one of The Raven Boys. After she met Gansey, Noah, Adam and Ronan, those rules will disappear.


  • The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

It’s the second installment in The Raven Cycle quartet and let me tell you, the story keeps getting better and better. For those of you who don’t know anything about the characters, I’ll just say that I have a huge problem now that I have a crush on Ronan. RONAN. Of all people, Ronan. Why am I doomed??? (But I also ship him so hard with a certain character, Holy Mary Mother of Jesus)


  • Morning Star by Pierce Brown

It’s the third and final book in the Red Rising trilogy. I love this series. It’s become one of my favorites and I am eagerly awaiting for the movie news, because I think that this series has SUCH potential. Oh my god. I think it would be perfect because it has elements of sci-fi, but also fantasy, and dystopia and yet it’s so realistic. I mean, the way the characters are developed, it’s not just in a good way, you know. We usually get to see characters who stay the same and who stay good no matter what they do. But Darrow… Oh Darrow, poor little thing. He’s changed so much from the first book and he’s been through so many things and that changed him and turned him into a man he doesn’t recognize and doesn’t like some parts of himself, and yet, he learns how to live with it.

It’s just great. Believe me. Read it. Please?


  • Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

Once again, I don’t think it’s necessary to explain this one. I think I’m going to write a review of the whole quartet once I finish The Raven King, which has just arrived! (Well, probably a couple of days before this is posted, but you get the point)


  • Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

You know, I decided a little bit before the movie came out that I won’t be reading this book. It just wasn’t for me. I liked the trailer – I thought it was very emotional and, plus, I love Emilia Clarke and Sam Claflin, but as the movie was getting closer to the premiere I was losing my interest. But, then, funny thing is, whenever I decide I won’t be reading a certain book, I usually end up picking it up. That was the case with this one, too. I read it in two days and I liked it much more than I thought I will. But, there was something that was bugging me the whole time and I still don’t know what that is, so I just had to give it four instead of five stars. I also didn’t find the ending that heart-breaking and I’m sorry if you did and if you do not agree with me, I completely respect your opinion.


  • The Assassin and the Pirate Lord & The Assassin and the Healer by Sarah J. Maas

If you’ve been following our instagram for a while now, you know that I am quite obsessed with Sarah J. Mass’s works and you all know how much I love her Throne of Glass series. So, obviously, I had to read the novellas she published last year. Unfortunately, I’ve read only the first two, but I shall see to it that I read the rest of them in August.


  • Until Friday Night by Abbi Glines

This book is extremely easy to read (if you’re friends with me on goodreads, you probably already know my thoughts on this one), but I didn’t like it at all. I just find the characters incredibly hard to relate to, not because of the things that have happened to them, but because they are so shallow and everything is just forced and I don’t know. I gave this book 2/5 stars.


I am currently reading The Raven King, but since I don’t know if I’m going to finish it in the next four days, I didn’t put it on this list.

I also wanted you to know that I will be doing August TBR if I find the time to do so.

If you want to know more about my reading progress and follow my thoughts on the books I’m reading as I’m reading them, you can add me on goodreads – my username is classical_sophistication.

‘Till next time,

Jelka

 

Leave a Reply

