SHADOWHUNTERS TV SHOW – YAY OR NAY?

 

So, as many of you know, I am a huge fan of Cassandra Clare’s work. I adore all of her books and her TMI series is my favorite series in the world. I love the characters, I love the plot, I love the action, I love the folklore she put into her work, I love Latin and Antic Greek aspect of the books – basically, I love everything.

So, normally, when I heard there’s a movie coming, I was super-excited and I immediately googled CoB movie news. I found out who was cast and I’ve been thrilled, because they were all like I pictured them. Jace and Simon, especially. And so I’ve spent most of my days until the very premiere of the movie talking to people from the fandom on the internet, exchanging my thoughts with them and so on. I was terribly excited and I wanted it to be perfect. I mean, just look at those three.

tumblr_o2nrvrbMTz1so7uc5o1_500

Then the movie came. I went to the movie premiere, of course, and what I’ve seen left me quite disappointed. Not the movie, I mean. The movie theater wasn’t full, as some would expect, or at least, me, but quite half empty. It left me quite depressed and sad.

Of course, I was still pretty much hyped because of the movie, cause duh. So, the movie started and let me tell you, I loved every part of it.

I know some of you may disagree with me, especially since I’m considering myself such a huge fan, but hear me out – I know some changes need to be made and I’m quite willing to accept it, as long as it doesn’t bother the characters’ personalities and behavior.

So, I left the movie theater with my hopes up and happiness written all over my face. I talked about the movie a lot, both to my parents and friends, but neither of them really cared, cause they had no idea what I was talking about.

After awhile, I figured out no one’s actually talking about the City of Ashes movie which made me terribly anxious and edgy. I loved the cast and I saw the potential in City of Bones and I didn’t understand why it took them that much time to figure out if there’s going to be a CoA movie or not.

Then I found out that the movie flip-flopped at the box office and I figured the shit’s about to go down.

I felt terribly disappointed and sad and really really let down.

I’d read the first five books of the series once again, if I recall well, and it ended there.

Then, the internet started humming again about a TMI TV show. And I was like, “WHAAAAAAT?” I realized that people from Constantin Films tweeted something about selling the rights to some TV show producers and I was hyped, once again.

I was thinking, “If they’re giving it a second chance, they must be planning something incredibly amazing to come.”

livros_tumblr

But, I got into the whole Shadowhunters TV show thing with my expectations set pretty low. I didn’t want my hopes up and then down again.

So, as you may agree with me, the casting plays a very important part in any book-to-screen adaptation. And since I really liked the movie cast, I was a bit skeptic about the show cast. First they announced Jace, if I’m right, and I was both happy and disappointed. I love Dom Sherwood as an actor and I loved him as Christian in the Vampire Academy Movie. But, he just wasn’t the Jace I was hoping for. But I realized it could be worse, so yeah, no big deal. I can go with that.

Then the rest of the cast was revealed and tbh, I only liked Alec – no, wait – I LOVED ALEC. Swoon-worthy.

tumblr_o2ohx7UFFU1uff2k8o4_400

I kind of liked Clary and Magnus, too.

Even though I made a promise to myself that I won’t be following the news about the show, I did. And I was one of those overly obsessed fans. I watched the clips from the shooting and pictures and interviews and stuff.

And then the first trailer came. I didn’t like it a little bit. The effects were so lame; I thought I could do better with my non-existing experience. And mostly I was confused.

tumblr_inline_o1zfbfmiC21snqrh9_500

I watched the pilot, thought it was pretty bad with very poor dialogues and acting and I simply didn’t find it appealing enough. I’m sorry if some of you liked it, I totally respect that.

 

What I wanted to do to the show’s producers is pretty much summed up in the next gif:

tumblr_nzfm55VsjO1ucc2f2o5_250

Since the pilot and The Descent Into Hell Is Easy came out the same night, I watched the second episode right after the first one. I didn’t like it, but I thought it was better than the first one, although the dialogues were still pretty bad and the characters were just stating the obvious; e.g. Jace saying, “You have the Sight.” NO SHIT. No, really. No shit.

And even though I wasn’t sure if I’ll continue watching, I kind of knew that part of me completely devoted to the Mortal Instruments series will prevail.

And so I watched the third, which was a lot better than the second one.

So, my point is, every episode is better than the one before. That, of course, doesn’t mean it’s great, because it’s obviously not; the acting is still pretty debatable, but it’s getting better.

There goes my point – I think they can make it better with time. It’s not good, so it’s definitely not yay, but it’s not nay too, because it’s getting better, so there’s still hope.

tumblr_o21hq0SfXf1u64gubo1_400

The only thing I’m actually worried about is how they changed the characters. And by characters, I mainly mean Isabelle. Isabelle is one of my all time favorite characters because she’s feminine, but she can fight and she’s not weak. She uses her beauty as a weapon, but she doesn’t use it go get information. What they did with Isabelle in the TV show is completely the opposite of what she’s supposed to be. They made her an object, used to get information.

The Isabelle we know from books would never stand behind Alec and Jace and wait for them to fight, while she’s the distraction. When the show Isabelle said she doesn’t mind being the distraction I was devastated because that is something the book Isabelle would never say. Because let me tell you, not only she minds being the distraction, but she would never accept such a thing. Never.

So, what I want is – please, analyze the characters a little more deeply and make them more book-alike. Please.

I would love for the show to get the second season and a season after that, because I believe it can get better, but it takes time. To write a decent screenplay. To get into the characters a little better. But I do believe they can do it, with a little effort.

Therefore, put a little effort and the TV show will be a YAY thing. I hope so.

For now, it’s a YAYNAY.

 

Sorry for making this post so long, but I needed to say everything I wanted and if I offended someone, please forgive me, because those weren’t my intentions. If you agree with me, please tell me down below, I am more than open to a conversation with people who like the Shadow World and more than willing to hear your opinions. So, please tell me down below what you think of the show and if you agree with me or if you don’t, just tell me something!

I hope you enjoyed this one and I hope it wasn’t boring for you to read this. Till next time, bye!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. AngelErin says:

    Omg!!! I thought I was the only one that liked the movie!!!! I was so shocked when I found out people hated it. So far I’m 50/50 on the show. Some things I like and some things bug the crap out of me. We will see as time goes on. Fabulous post!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am glad I’m not the only one, too. And thank you so much! 🙂

      Like

    1. Thanks! I’ll gladly do it, it’s amazing. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. bethybeeblog says:

        You’re welcome ☺️

        Like

Leave a Reply

